Tag:Mike Richards
Posted on: March 29, 2009 12:26 pm
Edited on: March 29, 2009 12:32 pm

NHL Award predictions

 The media is still writing and commenting on the Alexander Ovechkin's 50th goal celebration~  Let it go 10 days ago!  The playoffs are just around the corner and some teams have already polished their clubs, butsome can still look forward to the NHL Awards. 
Steve Mason is on fire and we are talking #1 choice for Calder, but I also think he is a candidate for the HART.  I am not stating he is a shoe in for the win, but I think the least we can do is nominate the kid!  At least a nomination won't tarnish him like Jose Theodore's Hart did in 2002. And with Ovechkin and Crosby continuing to make friends around the league I think there could be a Lester Pearson Trophy in his possession at end of NHL awards, we'll see...

That said folks here are my NHL Awards Predictions...

Frank J Selke Trophy:  Pavel Datsyuk (Detroit Red Wings), Mike Richards (Philladelphia Flyers), Mikko Koivu (Minnesota Wild), Jaime Langenbrunner  (New Jersey Devils)

Winner: Mike Richards (Philladelphia Flyers) 

Calder Trophy: Steve Mason (Columbus Blue Jackets), Drew Doughty (Los Angeles Kings), Kris Versteeg (Chicago Blackhawks),

Winner: Steve Mason (Columbus Blue Jackets)

Hart Trophy: Steve Mason (Columbus Blue Jackets),  Alexander Ovechkin (Washington Capitals), Evegni Malkin (Pittsburgh Penguins), Jarome Iginla (Calgary Flames)

Winner: Alexander Ovechkin (Washington Capitals)

Art Ross: Evegni Malkin (Pittsburgh Penguins), Alexander Ovechkin (Washington Capitals)

Lester B. Pearson Trophy:  Mike Green (Washington Capitals), Jarome Iginla (Calgary Flames), Alexander Ovechkin (Washinton Capitals), Steve Mason Columbus Blue Jackets)

Winner: Jarome Iginla (Calgary Flames)

Norris Trophy: Zdeno Chara (Boston Bruins), Niklas Lidstrom (Detroit RedWings), Mike Green (Washington Capitals) , Shea Weber (Nashville Predators)

Winner: Zdeno Chara (Boston Bruins)

Vezina Trophy:  Tim Thomas (Boston Bruiins), Niklas Backstrom (Minnesota Wild), Steve Mason (Columbus Blue Jackets), Miikka Kiprusoff (Calgary Flames)

Winner: Tim Thomas (Boston Bruins)

Lady Byng Trophy: Pavel Datsyuk (Detroit Red Wings), Daniel Alfredsson (Ottawa Senators),  Saku Koivu (Montreal Canadiens), Zach Parise (New Jersey Devils)

Winner: ZachParise (New Jersey Devils)

Masterson Trophy:   Martin Havlat (Chicago Blackhacks),  Martin Brodeur (New Jersey Devils), Alexander Semin (Washington Capitals), Simon Gagne (Philladelphia Flyers)

Winner: Alexander Semin (Washington Capitals)

Jack Adams Award:  Joel Quenneville (Chicago Blackhawks), Brent Sutter (New Jersey Devils), Ken Hitchcock (Columbus Blue Jackets),  Todd McLellan (San Jose Sharks)

Winner: Brent Sutter (New Jersey Devils)

Now that the awards are out of the way let's get back to the marvelous playoff race to elimination. with an average of 7 games left, the East and West are tight, and is going to go down to the wire.    Minnesota Wild and St. Louis Blues in and Edmonton Oilers and Nashville Predators out.  Montreal Canadiens out and Florida Panthers in.  See ya next week kids!  Till then keep the clicker clicking!    



The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or CBSSports.com